Read e-book online Spiced to Death (Gourmet Detective, Book 2) PDF

By Peter King

ISBN-10: 0312965001

ISBN-13: 9780312965006

The gourmand Detective: He's received a present for nutrients, a flavor for adventure-and a nostril for nabbing a killer.

Critics hailed Peter King's debut novel, The gourmand Detective, the 1st in a scrumptious secret sequence that includes the gourmand Detective-a chef-turned-culinary-sleuth.

Now, in his moment trip, the gourmand Detective is on his method from London to ny to authenticate Ko-Feng-an pricey spice, misplaced for hundreds of years, and lauded for its style and purported features as an aphrodisiac. but if the Ko-Feng disappears lower than his nose-and a culinary colleague turns up dead-the connoisseur Detective turns into the major suspect in a case extra slippery than Oysters Rockefeller. As he chefs up a scheme to discover the killer, the gourmand Detective embarks on a mouth-watering romp during the ethnic eateries of latest York urban, tasting his technique to ultimate justice.

Show description

[...]

Read More...

Julie Hyzy's Grace Under Pressure (Manor of Murder Mystery, Book 1) PDF

By Julie Hyzy

From the writer of the winning White apartment Chef mysteries.

Everyone desires a section of millionaire Bennett Marshfield, proprietor of Marshfield Manor, yet now it's as much as a brand new curator Grace Wheaton and good-looking groundskeeper Jack Embers to guard pricey previous Marshfield. yet to do that, they'll need to examine a botched Ponzi scheme, a few torrid Wheaton kin secrets-and bitter grapes out for revenge.

Show description

[...]

Read More...

New PDF release: The Girl With the Phony Name

By Charles Mathes

ISBN-10: 1429936452

ISBN-13: 9781429936453

So reads the fantastic lettering at the again of the tricky, ornate Celtic brooch Lucy MacAlpin Trelaine has simply inherited. Lucy, an self reliant twenty-nine-year-old orphan, has committed a large amount of time and effort attempting to resolve the secret surrounding her prior. Having contacted each person in mobile books whose identify even vaguely resembled Trelaine or MacAlpin to no avail, all she understands is that her mom and dad have been killed in a vehicle crash in western Massachusetts twenty-eight years in the past. Her success adjustments while she sees a newspaper advert from a legislations company inquiring as to the whereabouts of 1 Lucy MacAlpin Trelaine. The advert leads her to an "inheritance," that's not more than the Celtic brooch stolen from her after the automobile crash such a lot of years in the past, however it does offer her with a clean path of clues to stick to, clues that take her to big apple urban. To make ends meet whereas carrying on with her investigations, she takes a task with hyperactive enterprise entrepreneur Tak Wing, proprietor of the Neat 'n' Tidy chain of funeral parlors. made up our minds to aid Lucy locate her actual id, Tak Wing insists that they go back and forth to the Scottish Hebrides, with Lucy disguised as a punk rocker. From kidnapping to grave-robbing to tea with the neighborhood laird, Lucy's adventures propel her towards a end that could shake the British Empire to its foundations.

Show description

[...]

Read More...

Download e-book for kindle: Steeped in Evil (Tea Shop Mysteries, Book 15) by Laura Childs

By Laura Childs

ISBN-10: 1101638826

ISBN-13: 9781101638828

Indigo Tea store proprietor Theodosia Browning is ready to benefit the real which means of terroir...

Theodosia Browning hasn't ever thought of herself a wine connoisseur—tea has continuously been her specialty. yet that doesn't suggest she's going to go up a call for participation to a complicated wine-tasting social gathering on the upscale Knighthall vineyard, simply outdoors of Charleston, South Carolina.

But a candy night takes on a sour aftertaste while a useless physique is found in a single of the wine barrels. The son of owner Jordan Knight has been murdered.

Dissatisfied with the police research, Knight turns to Theo for support. She's heard in the course of the grapevine that there are either kinfolk and enterprise difficulties at Knighthall. they are saying in vino veritas, yet each person on the vineyard looks mendacity via their the teeth. Sorting during the visitor record in addition to relatives and employees, Theo has her decide of suspects. it may well appear like the killer has her over a barrel, yet cracking tricky circumstances is classic Theodosia Browning.

Show description

[...]

Read More...

New PDF release: The One from the Other (Bernie Gunther, Book 4)

By Philip Kerr

ISBN-10: 0143112295

ISBN-13: 9780143112297

Bernie Gunther is the appropriate narrator for Philip Kerr's bleak story of the soiled offers made through victors and vanquished alike in post-war Germany. Having realized that there's no technique to distinguish 'the one from the other', the cynical P.I. has the ethical readability to work out during the deceit and hypocrisy of either good friend and foe. Munich, 1949: Amid the chaos of defeat, it's domestic to all of the backstabbing intrigue that flourishes within the aftermath of struggle. a spot the place a personal eye can discover a lot of not-quite-reputable paintings: cleansing up the Nazi earlier of well-to-do locals, abetting fugitives within the flight in another country, checking out rival claims to stolen items. It's paintings that fills Bernie with disgust - however it additionally fills his sorely depleted pockets. Then a lady seeks him out. Her husband has disappeared. She's no longer trying to get him again - he's a sought after guy who ran probably the most vicious focus camps in Poland. She simply wishes affirmation that he's useless. It's an easy sufficient task. yet in post-war Germany, not anything is simple...

Show description

[...]

Read More...

Download e-book for kindle: The Cat, the Mill and the Murder (A Cats in Trouble Mystery, by Leann Sweeney

By Leann Sweeney

ISBN-10: 0451415418

ISBN-13: 9780451415417

While cat lover and quilter Jillian Hart volunteers to assist a neighborhood animal preserve relocate a colony of feral cats residing in an deserted fabric mill, she by no means expects to discover a girl dwelling there, too. Jeannie went lacking from Mercy, South Carolina, a decade in the past, after her personal daughter’s disappearance.

Jeannie refuses to depart the mill or abandon Boots, her cat who died years in the past. finally, she and Boots believe the necessity to guard the premises from “creepers” who are available in the evening. After Jeannie is harm in an coincidence and is taken away, these who've come to city to assist repurpose the mill discover a poor discovery.. because the wheels begin handing over Jillian’s brain, a mysterious new pussycat pal aids in her quest to unearth a long-kept and darkish mystery.

Show description

[...]

Read More...

Download e-book for iPad: Trial & Error (Solomon vs. Lord, Book 4) by Paul Levine

By Paul Levine

ISBN-10: 0440242762

ISBN-13: 9780440242765

Whilst Steve Solomon is woke up from a valid sleep beside his lover and legislation accomplice, Victoria Lord, the very last thing he expects is to discover himself in a high-speed chase opposed to dolphin-kidnapping ecoterrorists on Jet Skis. yet that's what you get whilst your nephew hangs out at water parks and speaks cetacean–a.k.a. dolphin. by way of morning, somebody is lifeless and Steve has a brand new purchaser: none except one of many animal liberators. There’s only one loophole: Victoria is at the case too—on the other side.

No ask yourself Larry King says that this can be “mystery writing at its very best” and Dave Barry says Paul Levine writes an amazing court drama that’s additionally humorous as hell

Show description

[...]

Read More...

New PDF release: Long Time Coming

By Robert Goddard

ISBN-10: 0553907409

ISBN-13: 9780553907407

Eldritch Swan is a lifeless guy. Or at the very least that's what his nephew Stephen has continually been instructed. till at some point Eldritch walks again into his existence after 36 years in an Irish criminal. He won't demonstrate any of the main points of his incarceration, insisting basically that he's blameless of any crime.

His go back can be of curiosity to no-one. however the stopover at of a solicitor with a mysterious request will take Eldritch and his sceptical nephew fromsleepy seashore Paignton to London, the place an exhibition of Picasso work from the distinguished Brownlow assortment proves to be the start line on a trip that would delivery them again to the second one global battle and the secret in the back of Eldritch's imprisonment.

In 1940, he used to be own assistant to a filthy rich diamond broker in Antwerp, whose choice of sleek artwork used to be the envy of many. the next disappearance of these work all started a path of homicide and intrigue which used to be to have a catastrophic impact on Eldritch's lifestyles. yet untangling the net of murky secrets and techniques, kinfolk ties and previous betrayals that conceals the reality will end up to be a perilous pursuit for Eldritch and Stephen. ahead of lengthy, a mysterious enemy is doing every little thing attainable to forestall the reality rising - at no matter what cost...

Show description

[...]

Read More...

Download e-book for kindle: The Christmas Cookie Killer (Fresh-Baked Mysteries, Book 3) by Livia J. Washburn

By Livia J. Washburn

ISBN-10: 1440636044

ISBN-13: 9781440636042

Phyllis Newsom stands an excellent chance within the Christmas cookie contest together with her snowflake-shaped lime sugar cookies. yet Mrs. Simmons' gingerdoodles may possibly provide her a run for her money--until she's came upon strangled in a pile of cookies. With many on Santa's naughty suspect record, this situation is a cookie Phyllis capacity to disintegrate?

Show description

[...]

Read More...

New PDF release: This Census-Taker

By China Miéville

ISBN-10: 1101967331

ISBN-13: 9781101967331

For readers of George Saunders, Kelly hyperlink, David Mitchell, and Karen Russell, This Census-Taker is a beautiful, uncanny, and profoundly relocating novella from multiple-award-winning and bestselling writer China Miéville.

In a distant condo on a hilltop, a lonely boy witnesses a profoundly worrying occasion. He tries—and fails—to flee. Left by myself together with his more and more deranged dad or mum, he goals of defense, of becoming a member of the opposite little ones within the city lower than, of escape.

When finally a stranger knocks at his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation could be over.

But through what authority does this guy preserve the meticulous documents he includes? what's the function in the back of his questions? Is he pal? Enemy? Or whatever else altogether?

Filled with attractiveness, terror, and strangeness, This Census-Taker is a poignant and riveting exploration of reminiscence and identity.
Advance compliment for This Census-Taker

"A thought-provoking fairy story for adults . . . [This Census-Taker] resembles the narrative sort, quirkiness, and plotting present in the works of Karen Russell, Aimee Bender, or Steven Millhauser."—Booklist

"Brief and dreamlike . . . a deceptively uncomplicated tale whose plot should be taken as a symbolic illustration of a side of humanity as titanic as a whole society and as small as a unmarried soul."—Kirkus Reviews
Praise for China Miéville

"Even while he's orbiting someplace in a galaxy too far-off for regular human comprehension . . . Miéville is dazzling."—The long island Times

"[Miéville's] wit dazzles, his humour is energetic, and the natural power of his mind's eye is astonishing."—Ursula ok. Le Guin
From the Hardcover variation.

Show description

[...]

Read More...